06.20.13 — “Swoon” by Whirr

Whirr

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Swoon” by Whirr (2013, from the forthcoming EP Around).

Whirr is a six-piece shoegaze band from the Oakland/San Francisco area. I don’t know much about them. I know that they’ve put out two albums and a couple of EPs. I had never heard of them until I got an email about the forthcoming EP Around, which will be released July 9 on Graveface Records. With recent posts about Hospital Ships and Casket Girls, it looks like the little label/record shop in Savannah, Georgia is becoming another one of my favorites.

After I checked out the mailbag submission, I was simply blown away. It’s loud. It’s dark. It’s weighty. It’s also soothing and warm. It’s rough on one side and smooth on the other. While some reviewers hate this kind of thing, I’m very happy to say that it sounds like a lot of the fantastic shoegaze/dreampop that I lived for in 1993. Today’s song is just another in a long list of This is That Song posts about songs and bands that have been undeniably and heavily influenced by the miraculous Slowdive album Souvlaki. The guitar effects. The heavily affected interwoven coed vocals. The intense walls of sound. All of that while still coming off as a relaxing thing.

I’m a bit short on time, so I’ll just get right to the song:
“Swoon” by Whirr

After the crush of the chromatic waves that come in the first 20 seconds, it sounds like one thing. It settles into something else, and by 1:19 when the ethereal web comes over us, it’s something else. At that point, I went from “liking” the song to “loving” it.

I suggest playing this on some good headphones. Lay down. Let it all wash over you. It’s fantastic.

You can pre-order your physical and/or digital copies of the four-track EP Around from the Graveface web store here. While you’re there, you should also get the aforementioned releases by Hospital Ships and Casket Girls. You won’t be sorry. I’ll also suggest Pipe Dreams, the 2012 album by Whirr.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 563 other followers

