Bonus video : St. Vincent

Because we’re not working at our paying job today, and because we’re back on track with early morning posts, we have some time on our hands.
Our friend over at 70dayweekend posted a brilliant video of Annie Clark (St. Vincent) chatting with that gal from tuneyards. Yes, I know I’m supposed to type it in that goofy stylized fashion, but I refuse to. Anyway, it’s a neat conversation about classical music and the awkward questions that they both get asked by interviewers who have 1950s-style ideas about the way women are supposed to behave.

Watching that video got me even more excited than I already am that I’m going to see a sold out St. Vincent show next week. Then, I saw an even more incredible video over at Pitchfork. It’s Annie having a quick chat with Aaron and Bryce Dessner from the National. It’s pretty much those guys, who are one of the best things going right now, pumping Annie’s tires. She totally deserves it. It seems like no matter how many completely awesome records she puts out, she’s treated like “a woman in a man’s world” (whatever) instead of respected as a really amazing guitar player.

Anyway, she talks a little bit about how she puts together her performances, which are notorious for her high energy levels. She says “I try to make each show stand out, and be a little wilder than the one before”

You can sort of see what she’s talking about at the end of the clip as she works (and surfs!) the crowd during the incredible new song “Krokodil”.

This is too good not to share:

I’ll be at that St. Vincent show next Wednesday at the Cat’s Cradle. If it’s even a little like what I’ve seen in videos like this one, it’s going to be incredible.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

4 responses to “Bonus video : St. Vincent

Leave a Reply

