June 5 — “Dossier” by An April March

An April March

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Dossier” by An April March (1994, from the album Lessons in Vengeance).

An April March was an ethereal dream-pop band from Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario. They were active between 1989 and 1999, during which time they released four albums and a couple of EPs. They are, by the way, not to be confused with the singer April March (nee Elinor Blake). Despite what Wikipedia says, their lineup consisted of Danella Hocevar (vocals, guitar, 12-string), Michael Klüg (drums), Christopher Perry (guitars, programming) and Andrew Starling (bass). They were one of the most visible bands on the amazing dream-pop centric record label Bedazzled Records. I’m pretty sure that for about four years (1993-1997) I single-handedly kept that label afloat with all of my mail-orders.

I think Bedazzled had a catalog of 40 releases, and I’m guessing that I have half of them. This is probably my favorite song from their catalog. It’s my favorite An April March song, anyway.
“Dossier” by An April March

I’ll apologize, because I don’t have the time or the sobriety to give full details about what I love so much about this song. It’s just something that screams “dream-pop 1995”. Lush orchestration, female vocals, creamy, nougat-filled deliciousness.

Just find a way to get it. You’ll thank me later.

Since Bedazzled shut down, Lessons in Vengeance has been out of print for more than ten years. There are a few used copies available in the amazon store, and a couple of them have obscenely high asking prices. Digital downloads simply aren’t an option. At least not legal ones.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

One response to “June 5 — “Dossier” by An April March

Leave a Reply

