June 9 — “Cheerleader” by Grizzly Bear

Grizzly Bear

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Cheerleader” by Grizzly Bear (2009, from the album Veckatimest).

Grizzly Bear is an indie-rock/indie-folk band from Brooklyn. They were founded in 2002, and they’ve released three proper albums since then. They have an as yet untitled album scheduled for release this September.

I first learned about Grizzly Bear a little bit late. They toured as Leslie Feist’s special guest on her The Reminder tour in 2007, and I was really impressed by what I saw. I went to the merch desk and bought Yellow House, and I wore that out for a little while. Not long after that, it seemed like they were all over the place. They were always on some late night show. They were always showing up in other bands’ late night teevee performances. They were always doing their own late night teevee performances.

When Veckatimest came out, I bought a physical copy, even though I wasn’t really buying physical copies of things back then. I also wore that one out for a while. I have a few “favorite” songs on Veckatimest, and today’s song is chief among them.

One of the band’s strengths is their vocal harmonies. Those are a big thing in this song. I like that a lot. I also like the drums in this song quite a bit. They’re not particularly busy. They’re not particularly heavy. I’m not even sure what it is about the drums here, but I really like them. They draw me in right from the drop, though.

I also like that this one has a little bit of meat to it. While a good amount of Grizzly Bear’s songs are really mellow, this one is a little has a little bit of volume and pace to it. Not that I dislike the slow mellow ones. Just that I like this one better.

Obviously, though, the big thing about this song is the Brooklyn Youth Choir singing their angelic harmonies. They appear on two songs from Veckatimest.

I can never listen to that song just once. I guess it’s all those vocal harmonies. The ones from the band themselves, and especially the ones from the youth chorus. It’s pretty remarkable stuff. The music is also very good, but in this case, it’s really all about the vocals. Not the lyrics, though. I don’t care about those. It’s all about the vocal work.

After releasing the new album, Grizzly Bear will go on a tour of the UK and Europe. In the middle of that, they’ll play about a dozen North American dates. Make sure you go if they come to your town. You won’t be sorry.

You can buy physical or digital copies of the Grizzly Bear catalog, and also pre-order the new one with title to come all from this web store.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

