June 23 — “Love Fade” by Tamaryn

Tamaryn

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Love Fade” by Tamaryn (2010, from the album The Waves).

Tamaryn is a dream-pop duo based in San Francisco, centered around the mononymous New Zealand native of the same name. She moved to New York, where she met and worked with Rex John Shelverton. Later, they moved to San Francisco and started the band.

They’ve released a few singles, an EP and this one album. The album came out in the autumn of 2010, and I think I discovered it very late in the year. Like a lot of the albums that ended up being on my favorite albums lists of 2010, The Waves reminded me quite a bit of the magnificent early- to mid-1990s era of dream pop. I was especially reminded of one of my favorite albums of that era. Blow, by the UK dream-pop band Swallow. I promise, I have something planned for them on the 20th anniversary of the release of that album.

Anyway, I liked the album very much, and I underrated it at #12 on my favorite 15 non-Canadian albums of 2010. Then again, it was a pretty strong year. I didn’t realize it at the time, but 2010 was sort of a banner year for new releases. Maybe part of the reason I say that is that for the first time in a few years, I was extremely active in new music acquisition. Maybe it really was a good year.

I didn’t then, and still don’t know much about Tamaryn. Just the New Zealand-to-New York-to San Francisco thing.

With that in mind, here’s tonight’s song:
“Love Fade” by Tamaryn

It starts off a little jangly, but I really like that thing at 0:14 when everything comes in, and it gets all muddy and dense and lovely. In a strange way, the lyrics are crisp and bright, but at the same time, they’re obscured by the rolling waves of sound. This is exactly the kind of thing that I find appealing. It’s wrapped in a strange cloak. Not a strange and creepy cloak, but a mysterious and alluring one.

You can order The Waves in your choice of formats from the Mexican Summer Records web store here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

