August 7 — “In Fall” by Lou Canon

Lou Canon

If you only listen to one song today, make it “In Fall” by Lou Canon (2011, from the album Lou Canon).

Lou Canon is an indie folk singer/songwriter from Toronto. Until about two years ago, she was a first grade teacher with a passion for music. She played the guitar and other instruments recreationally and she had written a few songs, but she didn’t really have any intention of doing anything with her songs.

A couple of Christmases ago, Lou Canon got an unusual gift from a somewhat famous family member. I guess her extended family draws “secret Santa” gifts. Her name was drawn out of the hat by her brother-in-law, the indie-folk rocker Hayden. His gift to her was a couple of hours in his Toronto recording studio. It was meant to be nothing more than committing a couple of her songs to tape. They never intended for anything real to come out of it.

“A couple of songs” blossomed into a plan to record a proper EP. That blossomed into ten songs and a full length album. Nine originals and a breathy, sexy cover of The Cure’s “Close to Me”. I don’t know how many of the songs Hayden had a hand in, but he produced the album, released it on his Hardwood Records imprint, and he sang a little on today’s song. I’m guessing that he wrote the song, because it’s got “Hayden” written all over it. The fact that it’s piano-centric. The pacing of the vocals. The actual words.

I can’t remember how I first heard about Lou Canon, but it was last spring or so. The album wasn’t available here in the US, but I could access a couple of the songs. The very Julie Doiron-ish “Heart Of” was probably the first thing I heard, followed by the “Close to Me” cover. I knew that Hayden had a hand in it, but I didn’t know until just now that they’re in-laws.

Today’s song is the only one that is obviously influenced by Hayden. It’s the only one that sounds like him. “Heart Of” sounds like Julie Doiron. There are a couple of tracks that remind me of Forest City Lovers.

Without further ado, here’s today’s song:
“In Fall” by Lou Canon

I’m not gonna lie. I love the harmonies. That’s really no secret, anyway. I’m a sucker for a co-ed harmony.

Even though I really like the song, I’m not nuts about the coda. I kinda wish that it just ended cold at 1:55 instead of dragging out the instrumental part of the song.

My favorite bit is the section between 1:11 and 1:20

I just can’t seem to find
What it is that I want
It’s always let behind
What it is that I need

I especially like the “want” and “need” harmonies. Brilliant.

You can order a digital copy of Lou Canon from her bandcamp page.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

