September 24 — “Daydream” by Beach Fossils

Beach Fossils

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Daydream” by Beach Fossils (2010, from the album Beach Fossils).

Beach Fossils is a low-fi surf-rock band from Brooklyn who formed in 2009. They’ve released only one album. One of the members of the band is Zachary Cole Smith, who essentially is the indie rock band DIIV. Click that link to find out the extreme measures that Smith took when he decided to start that project.
Another one of the founding members was John Peña, who left the band to start his own band called Heavenly Beat. They’re also on the Captured Tracks label. You’ve probably heard or read my ramblings about how awesome the Captured Tracks label is, and Beach Fossils is just another example.

The word on the street is that Beach Fossils have a new record in the works, scheduled for release by the end of 2012.

In the meantime, check out their debut album, which I called #15 in my list of my favorite non-Canadian albums of 2010. You should especially check out “Daydream”, which is the sixth song on the album. This is that song.

“Daydream” by Beach Fossils

One of the things that I like is that the chorus of today’s song reminds me a lot of “Car Crash” by Telekinesis.

I also like the abrupt ending. You guys know how much I love abrupt endings.

You can buy Beach Fossils from the Captured Tracks webstore here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

