October 6 — “The Fighter” by Jenn Grant

Jenn Grant

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “The Fighter” by Jenn Grant (2012, from the album The Beautiful Wild)

Jenn Grant is a folk-rock singer/songwriter from Halifax, Nova Scotia by way of PEI. Since 2005, she’s released two EPs and four full-length albums. Her newest record came out on September 25. Her previous album — Honeymoon Punch was met with warm reception. It was longlisted for the 2011 Polaris Music Prize, and I called it my sixth favourite Canadian album of 2011.

I just bought the new album today, and I’ve only listened to it 1.5 times, but I’m comfortable enough with it to recommend this song. The album is a little bit different from Honeymoon Punch. HP was really brilliantly poppy and it reminded me quite a bit of Forest City Lovers. The new one, on the other hand, is really soulful, and after 1.5 listens, I’m reminded of something much more like Florence & The Machine. That’s a good thing, too.

Today’s song, in a strange way, just during the chorus, reminds me a tiny bit of The Cranberries. The jury is out about whether that’s a good thing.

Since I’m short on time, I’ll just get right into the song, which harkens back to her folky, country-ish sound.

“The Fighter” by Jenn Grant

I like the lap steel or pedal steel. Whichever one it is. I like the gentle bits of banjo. For me, though, the best bit is when the fiddle comes in at 2:17. It’s a nifty turn there, and I keep going back for more.

You can buy The Beautiful Wild directly from the Jenn Grant web store via Six Shooter Records here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

