October 7 — “Inner Mini-Mississippi” by Snowblink

Daniela Gesundheit (Snowblink)

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Inner Mini-Mississippi” by Snowblink (2012, from the album Inner Classics).

Snowblink is a dream-pop band currently located in either San Francisco or Toronto. There isn’t much in the way of biographical information about them, and it seems like they’re being deliberately vaguer than vague in that regard. Zero biographical info on the official website. Almost nothing in their band page from their label (Arts & Crafts). Just about all I can find is that the band describes themselves as “nondenominational inspirational pop”. Okay. Whatever. Other than that, the only biographical information is that the band is really the project of Daniela Gesundheit and a revolving door of friends and collaborators. Snowblink has released (I think) two albums. Today’s song comes from the new record, which just came out last month.

I swear up and down that I read/heard about Snowblink on one of my frequently read blogs, but I can’t seem to track that down. I’m going to have to go with “I heard about them simply because they’re on Arts & Crafts”. I get those emails and social media updates from A&C, so that must be it.

I’m very short on time tonight, and the paucity of available background information leaves me nothing to work with and an empty tank anyway. That said, here’s your song:

“Inner Mini-Mississippi” by Snowblink

Gesundheit gets a lot of “sounds like Kathryn Calder“, and it’s pretty easy to see why on this song.

I can’t give much in the way of direction or insight. I’ll be back to my normal long-winded self in a day or two. For now, you guys are getting off easy.

Enjoy the song. You can buy Inner Classics directly from the Arts & Crafts web store here, or from any legal downloading place.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

