October 13 — “King Ferdinand” by Chris Brokaw

Chris Brokaw

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “King Ferdinand” by Chris “Don’t call me Tom” Brokaw (2002, from the album Red Cities).

Chris Brokaw is an indie rocker originally from New York City. In the early-mid 1990s, he played drums in the slow-core band Codeine, then guitar in the rock band Come. He’s worked with a bunch of people over the years, and went solo in 2002. Since then, he’s done a couple of movie soundtracks, a couple of extremely limited release records, and something like six proper albums. He has a new record out, and he’s currently on tour as the support act for Mono (Japan). I’ll be catching that show at the Local 506 on October 23. To be fair, I’ll be there 99% for Mono.

Tonight’s song comes from his 2002 debut long player Red Cities. I bought a lot of records that year, and Red Cities was near the top of the list of my faves of the year. Tonight’s song is probably my favorite song from that fine record.

Without further ado, this is that song:

“King Ferdinand” by Chris Brokaw

If you’re a frequent reader, you won’t be surprised to know that my favorite bit of the song is the tuned percussion. Glockenspiel? Xylophone? I dunno, but I love it. The levity of the tuned percussion provides a nice contrast to the gravity of the dense, dark bass and drum. It’s like the crispy, crunchy, “cool” side of the McDLT.

You can buy Red Cities in digital or CD format from amazon here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

