October 28 — “Deep Sea Diver” by Bat For Lashes

Natasha Khan (Bat For Lashes)

If you only listen to one song tonight make it “Deep Sea Diver” by Bat For Lashes (2012, from the album The Haunted Man)

Bat For Lashes is the stage name for the English multi-instrumentalist and singer Natasha Khan. Use your choice of “indie”, “synth”, “goth”, or “dream” plus the word “pop” to name her genre. She’s frequently compared to a wide range of singers who combine just enough household name power with equal amounts of “weird”: Kate Bush, Björk, even Fiona Apple. Since 2006, she’s released three studio albums, including the critically acclaimed The Haunted Man, which was released last month.

I wasn’t on board for the first two albums. Bat For Lashes was another one of those names that I heard a lot, and to be completely forthcoming, I always thought that it was something totally different. I’m not sure why, but I was thinking that BFL was a techno thing, or some subgenre like “deep house”. I have no idea why I thought that, but I’m glad that I got that straightened out.

So I got the new one and worked my way backwards. I really like the new album more and more with each time that I listen to it, and this is one of my favorites from it.

“Deep Sea Diver” by Bat For Lashes

Tonight will be one of the rare times when I’ll just present the song without commentary. To tell another truth, I don’t have the time to prep or research for this post. I’m halfway out the door to my last concert of this very awesome month of concert-going. A Place To Bury Strangers. I still haven’t told y’all about my trips to GY!BE and Mono (Japan), but I suspect that I’ll eventually get around to it. A sneak preview: that Mono show blew me away more than anything has in the last 16 years of going to lots and lots of shows.

Anyway, you can buy the new Bat For Lashes album here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

