November 6 — “Message From Home” by Broadcast

Broadcast

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Message From Home” by Broadcast (1997, from the compilation album Work And Non Work).

I apologize for the lateness of this post. I can only blame a very rare occurrence of day-drinking. I wasn’t really ready to start writing during my normal writing hours. Damn you, day-drinking.

Broadcast was an indie-electronic/dream pop band from Birmingham, England. Between 1995 and 2009, they released three proper albums, a slew of EPs, singles and compilation albums.

The original members were Trish Keenan (vocals), Roj Stevens (keyboards), Tim Felton (guitar) and James Cargill (bass). They had a revolving door at the drum kit. Felton and Stevens left the band in 2005 to form their own band. The band carried on with Keenan, Cargill, and a continuing rotation of drummers.

Tragedy struck the band in late 2010. While on tour in Australia, singer Trish Keenan contracted pneumonia, which may or may not have been related to the H1N1 virus. She went on life support on Christmas day 2010, and she passed away on January 14, 2011. She was 42.

Keenan had a very distinct singing voice, and it’s one that’s often talked about when people talk about Jessie Stein from The Luyas.

Tonight’s song comes from one of the compilation albums. Work And Non Work was a collection b-sides and other stuff from their early singles. The liner notes don’t offer further details about that, but that’s what it is. There are a lot of great songs there, and this is one of my favorites.

“Message From Home” by Broadcast

I really like the lounge-y feel of it, and the drum flourishes. As the false ending at 3:30, I’m normally a huge fan of that. In this case, however, I kind of wish that the song just ended there instead of coming back for another minute and a half.

Work And Non Work is out of print, and used copies are tricky to find, but if you see one somewhere, you should definitely grab it. Or try the used ones at amazon here. Unfortunately, neither amazon nor eMusic has it as a digital download. While I wouldn’t normally suggest using the iTunes store it is available there.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

2 responses to “November 6 — “Message From Home” by Broadcast

  • Porkchop

    I had no idea Work and Non Work was hard to find. I feel special now!

    • dlee

      Yeah. I didn’t know it either, until I started doing my usual tracking down of where to buy stuff. I’m not surprised that the physical is out of print, but I am surprised that some copies are going for so much, and that digital copies aren’t as widely available as I figured they’d be.

Leave a Reply

