November 15 — “Hearsay” by CNC

CNC

I apologize like crazy for my failure to post on November 15. I fell asleep during my prime writing time, and now I’m wide awake at 3:35 in the morning during my prime sleeping time. To make up for my missed post, I’ll write something now for yesterday, and something else this evening for today. Yesterday’s song is “Hearsay” by CNC (2012, from the False Awakening EP).

I’ve been getting a lot of traffic from Poland lately. I mean a LOT. A good bit of that Polish traffic, actually is going to a post that I wrote back in May about a German indie rock band called Hurricane Dean, and their fantastic song “Flat Random Noise”. In case you missed it, or if you want to revisit it, here’s that post.

I also got something in the mail bag from Poland. Something pretty good.

I normally ask for an EPK, or a one-sheet, or something else like a band bio. Today’s submission didn’t have any of those, and the band website doesn’t have anything biographical. Nor does their Facebook page. The point is that I know absolutely nothing about this band. They’re from Poland. Borys Dejnarowicz plays guitar and sings. Piotr Maciejewski sings, does the programming and plays guitar, bass, and keys. Michał Stambulski also sings and plays guitar. I think they’re from Warsaw. That’s the extent of what I know and what I can find out about them.

They recently released a five-song EP called False Awakening and dropped me a note about it. Here’s the second song from that record:

“Hearsay” by CNC

I love that it’s got a late 1980s/early 1990s vibe to it. I’m reminded a little bit of the really early stuff by Pale Saints. Partly because the singing on this song reminds me of Ian Masters. Also because of the gauzy texture. I didn’t quite notice it at first, but this song has different layers of vocals. I can’t make any of them out because they’re sort of washed out by the guitar effects.

I’m liking this more and more with each repeated listen. For that reason, I’ll encourage you to listen more than once.

You can stream the EP at soundcloud here, or you can buy a physical copy here. 19 Polish Złoty is, by today’s conversion, $5.82 USD.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

