December 3 — “Morning Thought” by Dale Earnhart Jr. Jr.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr.

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “” by Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. (2011, from the album It’s a Corporate World).

Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. is an electronic/indie pop group from Detroit. They formed in 2010 and they released their debut record in the spring of 2011 to generally favorable reviews. The core of the band is Daniel Zott and Joshua Epstein. Those two met while working on other projects, and they immediately started working together. I don’t know how they settled on the name “Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr.”, but they insist that it isn’t meant to make fun of the NASCAR driver Dale Earnhardt Jr. As the rumor goes, they sent Little E an email assuring him that they meant no disrespect, and he ended up liking the songs that they sent. When they play live, they often wear authentic NASCAR fire suits. None, though, from Earnhardt Jr or his team.

If I had to use basic indie rock mathematics to describe Dale Earnhardt Jr Jr, I would use some equation like “the sum of Grizzly Bear and Washed Out divided by the sum of Ben Gibbard and The Flaming Lips”.

The first time I heard the name “Dale Earnhardt Jr Jr”, I sort of assumed that they were a novelty band and that their name was a joke. I was pleasantly surprised when I found out that they’re a serious band. And even more surprised when I liked them.

I don’t know anything else about them, and I didn’t do very much homework on this, so I’ll just get to the song.

“Morning Thought” by Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr.

Tonight’s song is the first song on the album, and as I listened to it early this morning for the first time in a while, I knew right away that it was going to be your song of the day.

I like the mix of synthetic and live instruments. I like the multiple layers of vocals and the crazy vocal effects. I like how heavy those drum hits are. I like how thunderous it gets.

I really like some of the lyrics:

You’re thinking about how long it takes
To cross the ocean
While you wait, I’m running around it anyway.
I’m not thinking about it.

I would like to protect you
I would like to release you
I would like to inform you
I would like to pretend
But we don’t know how
We don’t know how to.

I’m not sure what that’s about, but I still like the lyrics. If I had to guess, I’d say that it’s about having the courage to jump right into something even though you have no idea what you’re doing.

My favorite bit of the song is at 0:59. Right after the first “Not thinking about it” chorus, those bursts of guitar are pretty sweet. Actually, it does that at the end of each chorus, but I like it better the first time it happens.

I had a lot of fun with this song this morning, and I hope that you have fun with it too.

You can get It’s a Corporate World from the amazon store here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

