December 4 — “Gold and Yellow” by Jolie Holland

Jolie Holland

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Gold and Yellow” by Jolie Holland (2011, from the album Pint of Blood).

Jolie Holland is a multi-instrumentalist and singer/songwriter from Houston. Her style is mostly folk, but she incorporates some rock and some jazz into her songs. Since 2004, she’s released four solo albums. She was also one of the founding members of the Canadian folk trio The Be Good Tanyas.

Pint of Blood is, from what I’ve read, inspired by the 1975 Neil Young album Zuma. According to her website, the songs on her newest record were written “tipsy on a train”. We don’t know whether or not they were written the back of envelopes.

That’s just about everything that I know about Jolie Holland. I first learned about her through my Music Geeks email group (viva la Geek!), and I got a couple of her records and her Daytrotter sessions from 2007, 2009, and 2012. I was pretty into Pint of Blood for a while, but then I forgot about it.

Early this year, the new Sun Kil Moon record Among The Leaves featured a rather bizarre reference to Jolie Holland. The song “Sunshine in Chicago” is somewhat autobiographical for Mark Kozelek, and it’s all about getting old and how his star doesn’t shine nearly as brightly as it used to. He used to have loads of female fans in the 1990s, but now it’s just “guys in tennis shoes”. Anyway, towards the end of the song, there’s a bit about going for a walk in Chicago on the day of a show.

I looked up at the marquee, and there was my name
Right next to Julie Holland, I think that was her name

That’s bad enough that he got her first name wrong, but there’s also a live version of that song in which he gets the name right but…. well….

Right next to Jolie Holland
Man, that girl is lame

As much as I like Mark Kozelek, and Sun Kil Moon, and Red House Painters, I just can’t support that.

Recently, I watched a “Parks and Recreation” marathon, and I kept seeing a promotional poster for Pint of Blood in April and Andy’s house. So I decided to revisit Pint of Blood. I’m glad that I did.

Today’s song is probably my favorite from that album

“Gold and Yellow” by Jolie Holland

For what’s essentially a folk song, this has a lot of ebbs and flows. A lot of loud bits. I like the loud bits.

You can get Pint of Blood from the amazon store here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

