December 25 — “The Hunt” by Youth Lagoon

Trevor Powers (Youth Lagoon)

If you only listen to one song today, make it “The Hunt” by Youth Lagoon (2011, from the album The Year of Hibernation).

Youth Lagoon is the stage name of Trevor Powers, a low-fi dream-pop musician who is originally from San Diego. He was studying English at Boise State University in Boise, Idaho when he started the Youth Lagoon project in 2010. He landed a deal with Fat Possum Records, and his debut record The Year of Hibernation was released in the autumn of 2011 to favorable reviews.

…Hibernation is another one of those albums that I got a while back when a lot of people were talking about it. I didn’t listen to it very much until recently.

Since I don’t know anything else about Youth Lagoon, here’s the song:

“The Hunt” by Youth Lagoon

With his voice and his arrangements, I can’t help but think of The Antlers. And in a different way, on a different end of the indie rock spectrum, I’m also reminded a bit of the electro-indie sytlings of bands like The Notwist and some of those Trevor Kampmann vehicles like Sea Saw and HollAnd.

I’m a big fan of the tuned percussion, because I’m always a fan of the tuned percussion.

I’m not really sure what the song is about. I don’t have the physical copy and I can’t find a consensus on the lyrics. There’s some wild variations, and I can’t really sort them out myself, so I won’t even present any of them.

You can buy The Year of Hibernation from the Fat Possum web store here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

