1.15.13 — “Seeing Stars” by Fonda

Fonda

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Seeing Stars” by Fonda (2013, from the forthcoming album Sell Your Memories).

Fonda is an indie-pop band from Los Angeles who formed in 1995. They released three records between 1999 and 2003. After a ten-year pause, they’ve got a new record coming out on February 5. It was sort of by accident that I discovered the new album, and it came as a big surprise to me. I was a big fan of their 2001 album The Strange and The Familiar, which was released on Parasol Records back when I was doing everything I could to support that label and mail-order service. I actually saw a Facebook ad for the new album, and the first thing I thought was that it can’t be the same Fonda who put out that record that I liked 12 years ago. All it took was a look at the typesetting on the album cover, and I knew for sure that it was indeed the same band.

Englishwoman Emily Cook moved from London to Los Angeles in 1994 to pursue a career in the film industry. She met David Klotz while they were both working for a film production company and the two became friends because of a shared love of Farfisas and French film. A couple of years later, they recruited some other friends and they started Fonda.

During the ten-year “pause” that the band took, Emily Cook wrote the screenplays for the animated films “Ratatouille” and “Gnomeo & Juliet”. Meanwhile, David Klotz was doing some music editing for teevee.

The Strange and The Familiar is the only one of the three previous albums that I have, and as a big picture, it reminds me of what might happen if the whole catalog of Heavenly and the last album by Lush had a beautiful baby. This new record, from what I can tell, is something quite different. It’s less twee and more noise. It sounds like 90s noise pop. At least two of the three new songs that I’ve heard do. Tonight’s song is one of those.

“Seeing Stars” by Fonda

I love the sun-drenched reverb-laden shoegaze-y bright wave of sound. I can’t help but think that they used to listen to the wondrous album Erotica by The Darling Buds a lot. I have tons of love for that album, so anything that reminds me of it is aces.

You can pre-order the new record from the band’s website.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

