01.31.13 — “Endeavor” by LoveLoveLove

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Endeavor” by LoveLoveLove (2012, from the “Your Heart Stops With The Beat” single).
LoveLoveLove is a shoegaze quintet from Oslo, Norway who got started in 2012. They released their debut single last August and they have a full-length album due out sometime this year.

There’s certainly been no shortage of Norwegian indie rock bands on this blog. Dråpe, Snøskred, Angelica’s Elegy, Serena-Maneesh. I discovered this band when I was doing some research for something else, and I stumbled upon the lineup for last week’s Trondheim Calling Music Festival. There’s some really amazing bands in that lineup that few people in North America know about. Truth told, I only know the aforementioned ones, but I’ve just listened to some samples from some of the other bands. I’m really amazed.

There’s a popular North American misconception that all Norwegian bands are either black metal or they are Sondre Lerche. Clearly, this is not the case. There are loads of bands from just about any genre you can think of. Fortunately for me, there’s a recent surge of dream-pop and shoegaze bands from Norway.

If tonight’s song is any indication of what’s going on with LoveLoveLove, it won’t be long before North American kids know their name. Here’s the song:

“Endeavor” by LoveLoveLove

To be perfectly clear and to throw out that tired cliché that I hate, I’m reminded less of MBV and more of the wonderful Estonian shoegaze band Pia Fraus. Right away, there’s some pretty cool coed vocal harmonies and overlapping parts. For a while, it goes into a thing that’s just a tiny bit brit-poppy, but then at 3:37, it gets even more amazing. That’s when the hammer drops, and the wall of sound towers over us. It’s all squawky and squally. Full of distortion, feedback, pink and white noise. Even as the pace slows to a crawl by the end of the song, the sonic tsunami rolls on. It’s incredible.

I don’t know anything at all about this band. Like I said, I stumbled upon them by stumbling upon the lineup card for Trondheim Calling. Almost everything that I’ve found about the band is written in Norwegian. This may come as a surprise, but I don’t speak a word of Norwegian. The internet auto-translate pages do a horrible job of turning those Norwegian pages into something that I can understand, so my research hasn’t yielded much. The only thing that I’ve been able to ascertain from them is that the band is made up from former members of Dråpe, and two other Norwegian bands. My research tells me that Receptionist is one of the bands that has members in common with LoveLoveLove, and that Receptionist is, in fact, a metal band. I’ll admit that I got a bit of a chuckle from that revelation, but I’ll say again that not everything that comes from Norway is black metal or Sondre Lerche.
To be clear about that, I liked Sondre Lerche’s first record but I haven’t listened to anything of his since then. As far as metal goes, and especially the “black metal” variant, I have no stomach for that kind of thing.
I’ll stay over here with my shoegaze and be quite happy.

You can download a digital copy of the three-song “Your Heart Stops With The Beat” single, but it looks like iTunes is your best legal avenue for that. This might be the only time that I will ever encourage using the iTunes store. You can also get it from Spotify, but since I hate that platform even more than I hate iTunes, I won’t encourage that either. If you want a shortened “radio edit” version of “Endeavor”, you can download it from soundcloud here.

They don’t give any details in English, and really not very many in Norwegian, but they’ve got an album coming out some time in 2013.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

