02.06.13 — “Tomorrow is Yesterday” by Field Mouse

Field Mouse


Today, I’m going to be making a couple of posts. There’s no particular reason for the multiple posts, but I just wanted to definitely get two done today. Maybe even three or more. That said, I’ll dispense with the “if you only listen to one song” schtick.

You may recall that I wrote about the Brooklyn indie pop band Field Mouse back in November. There are a lot of really amazing indie pop duos out there right now, and while Field Mouse isn’t technically a duo, and while I don’t mean to discredit the contributions of the supporting band members, we’re really only talking about two people here. The band is made up of Rachel Browne (guitar, vocals) and Andrew Futral (guitars), with help from a few others.

On that November day, it was their cover of the Julee Cruise song “Falling” that had tickled my fancy. Today, I was alerted to a new original song of theirs called “Tomorrow is Yesterday”. It was just released today, and it took no time at all for me to fall for it.

This is that song.

“Tomorrow is Yesterday” by Field Mouse

I love that this has a very 1990s non-coastal California indie guitar sound to it. It’s a lot of Pavement and a lot of Butterglory. Meanwhile, Browne’s vocals are reminiscent of some stuff coming out of Toronto. Almost like the way Emily Haines sings within the context of Metric. Haines’ voice is a little different on her “solo” stuff, but that’s another post for another day. Back on point, I love how Browne really shows range on this song. She sings an octave or so higher in the choruses than she does in the verses. And then within the chorus, there’s a backing vocal that’s still higher. Especially in the second chorus.

It’s a really fun and pretty song which may or may not appear on their new album. The album doesn’t have a name or a release date yet, but it should be out sometime this year.

Enjoy the song and stay tuned. I’ll have at least one more post today.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

