Benjamin Curtis from School of Seven Bells has Lymphoma

School of Seven Bells

Just after noon, I got a text message from a friend about School of Seven Bells. We don’t see each other much, but we sent a lot of texts back and forth about music or beer. Usually it’s about good stuff. Today, it was not about good stuff.

My friend’s text led me to the facebook page for the Brooklyn-based electro/dream-pop duo School of Seven Bells. Here’s the unfortunate news:

Dear Friends,
It feels so surreal to be writing this to you. In fact I still can’t wrap my head or my heart around it, but here it goes. A few nights ago Benjamin was admitted to the hospital for symptoms that have been getting worse for a few weeks now. After a dozen tests and scans (which he’s endured like a champion) , the doctors say it’s T-cell Lymphoblastic Lymphoma. It developed pretty aggressively, and the chemotherapy to treat it will be pretty aggressive, but the good news is that it’s TREATABLE. These next few months will be tough, but he is the toughest person I know (even while here, he was trying to figure out a way to sample the MRI). I wanted to share this with you all, because you guys are such a huge and important part of our lives. Send all of the light and love that you can his way. Every bit will count towards a strong and fast recovery. I believe that with all of my heart. I will be doing the same. Love, Alley

While Lymphoma is certainly a horrifying thing, the good news is that this is a treatable thing. I did a bit of research on this form of non-Hodgkins Lymphoma, and all indications are that treatment has been successful in almost every case. Every web page I’ve been to, though, (take this one, for example) has been very medical and very academic in nature. A lot of scientific and medical terms that I have no understanding of. What I do understand is that the cure rate and the remission rate has been very high among patients with the same ailment.

Benjamin will undergo some difficult treatment that will include chemotherapy, but he’ll be okay. Alejandra Deheza is asking for all of your positive thoughts in this trying time. It’s good to know that even in his state, he’s still thinking of ways to make music.

While you’re sending your light and your love their way, check out (quite appropriately), “Show Me Love”, from their 2012 album Ghostory.
“Show Me Love” by School of Seven Bells

I love how fuzzy and phase-shifted the guitar bit is at the very beginning. And especially so because it doesn’t rely on volume to make it awesome. While some School of Seven Bells songs lean really heavily on the “electro” part of their style, I like that this one is more in the “dream-pop” corner. I’ll admit that I wasn’t very keen on the new album when it came out, but the more I listen to it, and especially the second half of it, the more I like it.

You can buy Ghostory from the amazon store here.

Also, stop by the band’s facebook page to send your well wishes.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

