02.20.13 — “You Can’t Save ’em All” by Big Harp

Big Harp

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “You Can’t Save ’em All” by Big Harp (2013, from the album Chain Letters).

Big Harp is an indie-folk/rock band from Omaha, Nebraska. The band, who just released their sophomore album, is centered around the husband-and-wife duo of Chris Senseney and Stefanie Drootin-Senseney. He’s from some tiny cow town in middle-of-nowhere Nebraska, and she’s from Los Angeles. They have one of those stories in which they met, fell in love, started a band, made a record, had a baby, and got married all in the span of about a year.

This is a band whose name I’ve seen a couple of times in the mail bag. Most recently, a music promotion firm listed them among their highlighted artists who will be at SXSW this spring. As much as I’d love to, I can’t send myself to SXSW. However, that doesn’t mean that I’m not interested in hearing about who’s gonna be there. So keep that stuff coming.

I’d heard the Big Harp name before, but today was the first time that I took the time to check them out. I was pointed to the video for this song, and that was all it took for me to go buy a download of the new album.

The video is really nice, but on my end it’s a bit laggy. Actually, it’s a lot laggy. Either way, here’s the song. You can grab a download of the song from soundcloud:

“You Can’t Save ’em All” by Big Harp

I’m reminded quite a bit of Dan Mangan, which means I’m a fan. Not that Senseney sings like Dan Mangan. Just that the structure and the overall “feel” of this song is something that immediately made me think of Dan Mangan.

I like the bass right from the drop. There’s something a little bit Cat Power about that, but it’s not the whole song. Just that bit at the beginning.

The album goes in a couple of different directions. On a couple of songs, there’s more of a “rock” feel, and on a couple, there’s a bit of a “rockabilly” feel. At the end of the day, it’s still an album that is basically a folk record. That was my thing in 2010, when almost every album on both of my year-end lists was essentially a folk record. Since then, I’ve gotten back to my noise/shoegaze roots, but I still love indie-folk records like this one.

You can download the song for free from soundcloud. You should buy the album in digital or physical format via the Saddle Creek Records web store here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

