03.08.13 — “A Dog Waits in The Doorway” by Little Tybee

Little Tybee

Tonight’s post is going to be something a little different. Instead of offering up the normal mp3 or soundcloud file, it’s a video. Really, though… Just pay attention to the music. So if you watch only one “music video” tonight, make it “A Dog Waits in The Doorway” by Little Tybee (2013, from the forthcoming album For Distant Viewing).

Little Tybee is an indie-folk/orchestral rock quintet from Atlanta. Most reviews say that they don’t really fit into any genre, and most go on to say that “the band likes it that way”. I don’t have any of this band’s records and didn’t know anything about them until I saw their name in the mailbag. Again. And again. Today, they showed up in the mailbag for the umpteenth time. This time, it was to promote their appearances at next week’s SXSW festival in Austin. Also, of course, to promote their new album, which will be released next month. Also, to promote the video for “A Dog Waits in The Doorway”, which is the last song on the forthcoming record.

The video was filmed and edited by Brock Scott, who is the lead singer/guitarist in the band.

I’ve read some reviews of the band that are quick to mention Fleet Foxes as a reference point, and in this song, it’s pretty easy to see why.

I don’t like posting videos, but this one is something different, so there it is. No cats were harmed during the making of the video. Forget about the soggy cat, though. Just listen to the song.

It’s a very short but brilliant song. The acoustic guitar and the violin are enough to rope me in, and the opening lyrics make it that much more of a sure thing for me.

I wish I knew how to talk to you
Every time I try, my words get misconstrued

and then at the end

It’s a strange concept, I’m sure
But it’s one you must endure

I really like the way the stress is unconventionally on the second syllable of the word “concept”. I’m not sure why they do that, but I like it.

Yes, there’s a lot about this that’s reminiscent of Fleet Foxes. And that’s a very good thing.

Little Tybee will be playing a few shows at SXSW, then a short tour of the southeastern US.

Their record releases on April 9, and you can pre-order a physical copy from Paper Garden Records. Vinyl here or CD here. If physical copies aren’t your thing, you can pre-order a digital copy from the band’s bandcamp page here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

2 responses to “03.08.13 — “A Dog Waits in The Doorway” by Little Tybee

Leave a Reply

