Hopscotch 2013 Lineup Announced

This morning, the Hopscotch Music Festival announced the lineup for the 2013 festival, which will run from September 5-7 in Raleigh, North Carolina.

This is the fourth year of the festival and the second year that I’ll be attending the whole weekend. 175 bands. 15 venues. All in a tight 10-block radius. The schedule will be announced at a later date, but the full alphabetical list of bands is here.

You can also view the roster in “poster” format here.

The alphabetical list has links to a band bio for each band, including at least one playable song for most bands.

Just like last year, there are at least 100 bands that I’ve never heard of, and just like last year, I plan to do enough research to know something about every one of the bands by the time the festival begins. I’ve already featured a handful of the bands on this blog, and as I do my research, I’ll probably feature about 40 more of them between now and the end of August. This is the fun part.

Last year, being a full-festival rookie, I learned quickly that it’s foolish to try too hard to see every band on my wish list, but I’ll probably have a long list of 40 bands that I’ll want to see. Of that, I’ll probably have 25 on a short list. Out of that, I’ll probably end up seeing 15. If I’m lucky.

I will hope to see some of you readers at the festival in September.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

One response to “Hopscotch 2013 Lineup Announced

Leave a Reply

