05.06.13 — “Simulate” by Delicious Monster

Delicious Monster

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Simulate” by Delicious Monster (1993, from the “Snuggle” single).

Delicious Monster was an indie pop band from Birmingham, England. They were active between 1990 and 1995, but for all intents and purposes, they were active only in 1993. They were being compared to the likes of The Cranberries and The Sundays, and a lot of the hardest-working indie bands of that year were naming Delicious Monster as one of their favorite new bands. I think they were sort of the darlings of NME, but on this side of the Atlantic, they were virtually unknown.

The band cranked out five singles in just over a year, followed by a compilation album called Joie de Vivre. A friend who was managing a record shop way back then called me when he got one of those singles in the shop. To tell the story correctly, the “friend” was really the brother of a friend, but that’s not important. Anyway, he guessed correctly that this was right up my alley. I bought the first single, and then as the others came out, I got them as well. Remember the pre-internet days when you would get the shop manager to special order imports for you? Remember how you used to eagerly await the postcard that the shop would send you, telling you that your special order had arrived? I kind of miss those days.

Today’s song didn’t make the album, but I still think it’s their best song. Although I no longer listen to it multiple times a day like I did back in 1993, I think it still holds up well. I’ve certainly listened to it multiple times today.

I can’t track down the release date of those singles. Because of the catalog numbers, I’m almost certain that the record label that released their stuff was their own label and that there were no other bands on it.

I’m sure that I read a magazine article or two about Delicious Monster back in the day, but I don’t remember ever knowing very much about the band. Theres ‘virtually nothing about them on the interwebs other than a myspace page that was at some point managed by frontwoman Rachel Mayfield and bassist Ian “Huck” Whitney.

All I know for certain is that the single came out in 1993. Let’s just pretend that it came out 20 years ago to the day.

Here’s the super-jangly song of the day:
“Simulate” by Delicious Monster

While other songs have a bit more teeth to them, I’ve always really liked this one. Maybe because it’s REALLY Sundays-esque. I love the one jangly acoustic guitar playing togeter with the eclectric guitar with miles of delay on it.

Of course I dig Rachel Mayfield’s voice. That should go without saying.

The band never released anything else, but continued to tour until 1995, when they split up. Rachel Mayfield put out a solo record called Freedom is Sexy? in 2006, which sounds a little lounge-y, but not much different than the quieter Delicious Monster songs.

All of the singles are out of print, as is the album. You can find some of them on ebay, but you won’t have much luck finding them in regular retail outlets.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

4 responses to “05.06.13 — “Simulate” by Delicious Monster

  • wjpurdy

    Listening closely, now, for the first time ever… the Sundays comparison is apt. You’ve unearthed another lost gem of an era, DLee.

  • Peter Knight

    I was a big fan of Delicious Monster around the time they released the singles/Album, and still have all of them on CD (and have just ripped them to my Banshee music player). I always wandered what happened to them, as they were one of my favourite bands at that time, and never got the success that they deserved. They just seemed to vanish. I did an internet search for them some time ago, and nothing came back. Different today though!

  • Rachel

    Hello Thank you for this review and I’m very glad you like the song.
    Rachel x

  • (mark) joseph stokes

    Glad you like it, I like this song, I played and wrote both guitar parts, i was the guitarist in the band. I also played guitar and co wrote some of rachels solo stuff that followed. it was a great band.
    My curent band is Tolerance Manoeuvre

Leave a Reply

