05.10.13 — “I’m To Blame” by Boardwalk

BoardWalk

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “I’m To Blame” by BoardWalk (2013, from the “I’m To Blame” single).

BoardWalk is a dreampop/shoegaze band from Los Angeles. The duo of Amber Quintero and Mike Edge was recently signed to Stones Throw Records, which is a label out of Los Angeles that I’ve never heard of.

This track landed in my mailbag the other day, and it’s kind of been floating around in my head since the first time I listened to it.

They have a self-titled album coming out some time this year, and they’re currently working on a video to promote tonight’s song.

Unfortunately, that’s everything that I know about the band. Here, then, is tonight’s song:

“I’m To Blame” by BoardWalk

When I hear this song, I imagine Galaxie 500 and Stereolab making sweet, sweet love. And maybe it’s Galaxie 500 doing most of the work, but it’s something great. I’m not the kind of guy who can listen to that organ and identify it, but whatever it is, I love it. If the rest of the debut album is anything like this, I think that I will like the album very much.

Tonight’s song was featured on a flexidisc record that Stones Throw put out as the last of a four-part series.

The ending is a bit abrupt, but I’m really digging the song anyway. I’ll be looking forward to the album, whenever it comes out.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

