Maintenance

For the past couple of months, I haven’t been quite as on top of the “every day” thing as I hoped I would be. It worked for the first full year, but I’ve gotten a bit lazy and a bit preoccupied with other things.

A couple of things that I’ve been preoccupied with lately… The new book about Galaxie 500, entitiled Temperature’s Rising. It’s a coffee table book. A lovely collection of Galaxie 500 ephemera. Much more like a scrapbook than anything else. I didn’t even know that it existed until a friend tweeted something about it. Since I really enjoy Galaxie 500, I immediately ordered a copy, not knowing exactly what I was getting into. I didn’t read the product description, and I made some assumptions. I still think it’s an excellent thing to have, but if I’m honest, I was hoping for something closer to a memoirs. It’s astonishing how much stuff Naomi Yang held onto over the years. Not just the one-sheets and the promo photos. Not just the all-access passes from festivals that they played. It’s the other stuff that’s especially cool. The handwritten letters from Calvin Johnson of K Records and others from producer Kramer. It’s the press release faxes and other things like that. Its a different way of having a peek into the personal stuff of Galaxie 500. Check this book out, and re-introduce yourself to their records. If you don’t have their out-of-print albums, you can still order the absolutely stellar box set, which includes all three studio albums (remastered) and a fourth disc of covers, b-sides and rarities. It’s a must-have box set.

That Galaxie 500 arrived on Saturday. Yesterday, something else really fun arrived.

The 20th anniversary edition of The Breeders‘ classic 1993 album Last Splash. This package is a 3xCD set, or a 7xLP set in a beautiful package. The first disc in the set is the album Last Splash. It hasn’t been remastered or anything like that. The package also includes a compilation of the stuff that was on the Breeders’ EPs. Also, some really great demo versions of albums songs, some BBC studio sessions, and a live concert that was recorded in 1993. Some of that stuff had never been released before. It’s a really thoughtful assortment of extras, and the packaging is brilliant. A physical copy is very highly recommended. Anyone who was buying 4AD records in the 1990s will highly appreciate the fact that Vaughn Oliver did the design on the booklet.

Finally, on a more business-related topic, it’s been brought to my attention that some stuff that was being sent to the mailbag has been getting returned to sender. As it turns out, my mailbag was dangerously close to maximum capacity, so emails were having a hard time getting through. I’ve done some much needed maintenance to the mailbag, and it’s now open for business again. The next scheduled maintenance will be in November.

Order the Galaxie 500 book here. Order the Last Splash anniversary edition —LSXXhere.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

One response to “Maintenance

Leave a Reply

