07.24.13 — “I’d Rather Die Alone in a Hospital Bed and Meet an Amazing Ghost Than Get Back Into a Half-assed Relationship With You” by Tender Bats

Leah Rosen aka Tender Bats

If you only listen to one song with a crazily long title tonight, make it “I’d Rather Die Alone in a Hospital Bed and Meet an Amazing Ghost Than Get Back Into a Half-assed Relationship With You” by Tender Bats (2013, from the Demos Part II EP).

Tender Bats is a Seattle shoegaze/dreampop band that I know almost nothing about. They are a two-piece fronted by Leah Rosen. There’s also a guy named Dom. They formed in 2012, and until April of this year, they were called Annie Holiday.

They released a series of digital demo EPs this year, and at some point in the not-too-distant future, they plan to release an album made up of finished versions of those nine songs.

I’d never heard of Tender Bats until yesterday when I was doing some research about a different band. While listening to something via Soundcloud, a Tender Bats song came up as a recommended track. It wasn’t tonight’s song, but it definitely caught my attention. If you really need to know, the song that first caught my attention was the dreamy, tuned percussion-infused song “Karma”, which reminds me quite a bit of Memoryhouse.

Instead, I’m making this other song my song of the day.
“I’d Rather Die Alone in a Hospital Bed and Meet an Amazing Ghost Than Get Back Into a Half-assed Relationship With You” by Tender Bats

Or, in other words, “We Are Never, Ever Getting Back Together”. Hate all you want. Taylor Swift can write the fuck out of a song.

Seriously, though….

I love “I’d Rather Die Alone…” because it’s a little goth-y and a little post-punk-ish with the weird synth organs and drum machine and whatnot. Still, though, it maintains a very dreamy atmosphere. All of that is helped along by Rosen’s airy vocals. Especially the angelic second vocal track in the second verse and also in the third chorus. That stuff right there is well worth the price of admission.

Speaking of which, you can grab all three of the Demos EPs at the “name your own price” price via the Tender Bats Bandcamp page. Demos Part II is here. Part I is here, and Part III is here

Again, there’s not really any details about when the album will be ready, but you can “like” Tender Bats on their Facebook page and follow their Twitter feed.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

