08.01.13 — “Song Without Words” by Burrrn

Burrrn

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Song Without Words” by Burrrn (2011, from the album Blaze Down His Way Like The Space Show).

Burrrn is a shoegaze trio from Tokyo. They’ve been around since 2005, but have only one album under their belt. It’s a very impressive album, and I don’t know how it slipped under my shoe-dar all this time.

I know absolutely nothing about this band, and it’s been difficult getting even the most basic biographical information about them.

I learned about this band by exploring some of the “suggested bands” at lastfm. One click to another to another, and I was on the Burrrn page. Right away I loved this song.

Tonight’s song was actually released as a single in 2008, and it appeared on a couple of compilation albums. Then, in 2011, they released their first album on Tokyo’s rrrRecords. They’re one of just two bands on that label, and Blaze His Way Like The Space Show was the first thing that the label released.

Here’s the song:
“Song Without Words” by Burrrn

There’s not much that I can say about this. Super fuzzy. Tons of white noise. Magnificent waves of feedback. The drums are perfectly placed in the mix. The vocals are amazingly lush, and in English, but there’s no chance of discerning anything out of that wall of sound.

After buying an album download and listening to this song several times in a row, it occurred to me that it reminds me a little bit of Drop Nineteens. That’s always a good thing.

I imagine that a Burrrn show is a lot of fun. It might make your head hurt for a few days, but I’m sure that it’s something to behold.

Play this on real speakers. Play it loudly. Enjoy it.

I very highly recommend getting a copy of Blaze Down His Way… from the amazon store here. You won’t be sorry.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

3 responses to “08.01.13 — “Song Without Words” by Burrrn

  • Paul

    Have you heard the band Tokyo Shoegazer? You’d probably enjoy their album “Crystallize”. Also the “Yellow Loveless” tribute compilation — which includes Tokyo Shoegazer and other Japanese bands doing a track-by-track cover of MBV’s Loveless.

    • dlee

      Excellent recommendation. I checked them out, and I absolutely love the song “Bright”. It looks like “Chrystallize” is very hard to find without spending a fortune or backing away from my “I will not shop in the itunes store” stance.

      • Paul

        I don’t recall where I got my copy of “Crystallize”, but I did just discover that they’ve got a new 6-track “mini-album” that was released in May, called “Turnaround”. I haven’t heard it yet, but I hope to soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

