08.07.13 — “Spit it Out” by Butter the Children

Butter The Children

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Spit it Out” by Butter the Children (2013, from the forthcoming EP True Crime).

Butter the Children is a post-punk/pop/shoegaze quartet from Brooklyn. They’ve been around for a couple of years, and they are the product of a bunch of now defunct cool-kid Brooklyn indie bands.

I really don’t know anything about them. I just got something in the mail bag a week ago, and this song has been swimming around in my head for a while. The email/PR packet/press release that I got included an intriguing photo (not the one that I’ve inserted above), and a few quick paragraphs to sell the band. This is the bit that really caught my attention:

On their debut EP True Crime, the band mixes the textured melancholy of The Smiths, C86 bands’ jangly guitars, the violently gauzy levitation of My Bloody Valentine and early Blondie’s sweetly-punk melodicism into a refreshingly loud, dangerous and pop-conscious dagger.

If that’s not up my alley, I don’t know what is. The band name may be iffy, but what they’re doing is quite good in my book.

The two or three things that I’ve read about this band all throw around Blondie as a reference point. I get that, but in a more contemporary way, I hear something a lot like Evans the Death in their music. And everyone around here knows how much I like Evans the Death.

Tonight’s song leans way less on the C-86 sound and The Smiths. Less, even, on the MBV sound, and much, much more on the Blondie stuff. Last week, Stereogum premiered the single, and you can stream it there, or over at soundcloud.

“Spit it Out” by Butter the Children

The EP will be released August 20 via Downtown Records, which is also home to This is That Song favorites Houses. You will most likely be able to download the EP from the Butter the Children bandcamp page when the day arrives.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

