08.28.13 — “Op Hop Detonation” by Stereolab

Stereolab

I spent my day off doing a lot of things around the This is That Song headquarters. I got stuff done that needed to get done, but here we are with just a few minutes left and a post that needs to be written.

In other circumstances when I’ve been pressed for time, I’ve just gone back to an old favorite. And I’ll do it again tonight. No backstory. No anecdotes. Just a great song.

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Op Hop Detonation” by Stereolab (1999, from the album Cobra and Phases Group Play Voltage in the Milky Night).

I’ve been a massive Stereolab fan for a long time. Since at least 1994. They’ve gone through some stylistic tweaks, a few lineup changes, and the tragic death of a longtime member. Through it all, they’ve remained basically the same band.

When Cobra and Phases… came out in 1999, it took me a while to get into it. That’s how each album has gone since then. I’ve needed to give them a lot of time and a lot of listens. But I love every album that they’ve released.

This is one of the better songs from Cobra and Phases.

“Op Hop Detonation” by Stereolab

It’s got everything that makes Stereolab great. Crazy synth sounds. Bleeps and bloops in perfect places. Some pretty wild guitar effects. Gorgeous vocal harmonies. Excellent percussion. Fake horns. Vibraphone. Vibraphone. And 26% more Lætitia Sadier.

That’s all I have time for.

Buy Cobra and Phases here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

