09.01.13 — “Dead Inside Your Heart” by Deep Cut

Deep Cut

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Dead Inside Your Heart” by Deep Cut (2011, from the album Disorientation).

Deep Cut is an indie/pseudo-shoegaze band from London. The band is more or less fronted by Mat Flint (guitars, vocals), who used to be in Death in Vegas and also a band called Revolver back in the 90s. The rest of Deep Cut is made up of Flint’s wife Emma Bailey (vocals), his brother Simon (bass), his Death in Vegas bandmate Ian Button (drums) and some cat named Pad Bailey (guitars). I’m almost certain that Emma Bailey and Pad Bailey are not related, despite their shared surname and despite the other familial connections in the band. Deep Cut formed in 2006, and they’ve released two albums via Club AC30 Records. I know nothing else about them. I found their music by accident as I was doing research on something else.

“Dead Inside Your Heart” by Deep Cut

Right out of the gates, one of the things that I really like about this song is the fact that those drum fills at the very beginning sound a bit like the drum fills in the MBV song “Sue is Fine”. I’m sure that he did it on purpose.
Another thing that I love is that Emma’s vocals are a lot like Miki Berenyi from Lush. I mean a LOT. For that matter, the guitar also sounds like Miki’s guitar. Not the noisy, boisterous Lush of the early, Gala or Spooky days. More like the later days of Lush. The more melodic days. The more poppy days of Split and Lovelife. I’m reminded specifically of the fantastic song “Hypocrite”. Although I prefer the noisy, darker Lush, you’ll be hard-pressed to find to find very many pop songs better than “Hypocrite”.

I really didn’t mean for this to be about Lush. It’s just that a lot of tonight’s song reminds me of a lot of Lush. And that’s a very good thing.

Also, please enjoy the video here:

You can buy Disorientation from the amazon mp3 store here

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

3 responses to “09.01.13 — “Dead Inside Your Heart” by Deep Cut

Leave a Reply

