Checking in from Hopscotch

As you all know, I’m at the Hopscotch Music Festival again this year. 
My downtime is sparse and my internet connection at the hotel is terrible (this post is from my phone), so I haven’t posted anything, but I’m having a great time. 
A few surprises, a few disappointments, a lot of beer, and much more.  I’ve bumped into some old friends, I’ve bumped into some new friends, and I’ve made some new acquaintances.

So far, the Angel Olsen set on Thursday night was among my favorites.  Because of club capacity, I only managed to catch about 12 minutes of a mind-blowing set by Thurston Moore and Japanese noise-rock master Merzbow.  It wasn’t really on my schedule, but it was a happy accident. 
I saw some bands on Friday that weren’t really in my wheelhouse, but good anyway. 
I was very much looking forward to the set by Houses, and despite a ton of technical difficulties and a 35 minute delay, they played a great set. 
More details when I get home tomorrow.  Or maybe on Monday.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

