Back from Hopscotch

As you all know, I spent the weekend at the fourth annual Hopscotch Music Festival in Raleigh. I had a great time. I pushed myself a bit too hard, trying to see as many bands as I could. Even though I swore that I wouldn’t do that, I did. It caught up to me on Saturday night in pretty dramatic fashion, and I’ll write more about that later.

Overall, it was a fantastic festival. By my count, I saw 22 bands that I can name, and a few more that I had no idea who they were. Most of that lot were on my short list. I saw some bands that weren’t even on my long list. I saw and enjoyed one band that I never would have thought about seeing. On the other hand, I missed a few bands that were on my very short list, including one that some folks were tweeting that they had “won Hopscotch”. That’s just the way it goes.

Just as I did last year, I’ll do a day-by-day breakdown of what happened, followed by a separate post about “the incident”.

As a teaser, I’ll say that for each day, I had high expectations for one particular band. None of them disappointed me. On Thursday, it was Angel Olsen. On Friday, it was Houses. On Saturday, I had two big expectations: The Breeders and Low.

Stay tuned for all of the juicy details, plus some photos and video.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

