09.18.13 — “Out” by ILLLS

Steven Ross (ILLLS)

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Out” by ILLLS (2013, from the forthcoming album Hideout From The Feeders).

ILLLS is a fuzzy surf-rock band from Oxford, Mississippi. There’s a lot of great stuff coming out of Oxford these days. Another Oxford band, Water Liars, really impressed me at Hopscotch. They were more than I was expecting them to be, and you can read about that here.

The only thing I know about ILLLS is that the band is fronted by Steven Ross, that Hideout From The Feeders will be the full-length debut, and that Ross wrote and recorded the album from his home in Oxford.

I got something in the mailbag yesterday announcing the release of “Out” and the forthcoming album. I’ve listened to the song a bunch of times, and I really like it.

This is that song.
“Out” by ILLLS

There’s something about it that reminds me of the tasty goodness of Telekinesis. In particular, I’m reminded of the excellent song “Car Crash” from the 2011 album 12 Desperate Straight Lines.

I just love how very fuzzy it is. It’s a combination of the fuzz and the way Ross sings that keeps reminding me of Telekinesis. And there’s nothing at all wrong with that.

The debut album by ILLLS, entitled Hideout From The Feeders will be released on November 12 via Aloe Records, which is a very small, Idaho-centric label. You can pre-order a vinyl copy of it here. The first 100 copies of the album will be pressed on clear green vinyl, so if you’re into that kind of thing, you should act quickly.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

