10.03.13 — “Beyond Your Bones” by Far-Out Fangtooth

Far-Out Fangtooth

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Beyond Your Bones” by Far-Out Fangtooth (2013, from the forthcoming album Borrowed Time).

Far-Out Fangtooth is a fuzzy psychedelic rock quartet from Philadelphia. Their sophomore album Borrowed Time will be released on October 29 via Siltbreeze Records.

I know virtually nothing about this band. I had never heard of them until I got something in the mail bag today. Virtually everything that’s ever been written about them uses the descriptors “gothic” and “fuzzy”. Some say that their music is reminiscent of stuff from the early days of Creation Records. I can understand “gothic” and “fuzzy”, but based on the few songs that I’ve heard, I’m not sure that I would go with the Creation Records comparison.

I don’t like the band’s name, but I really like their sound.

With apologies for brevity, here’s tonight’s song:
“Beyond Your Bones” by Far-Out Fangtooth

I really like the fuzz and feedback and all of the delay. Especially in the last 90 seconds of the song. Not quite shoegaze. Not quite stoner rock. “Beyond Your Bones” inhabits the sweaty, ear-ringing common middle ground between them.

Although I’ve only listened to this through headphones, it seems like this would be magical if played very loud in a small room.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

