10.12.13 — “Four Walls” by TATI ANA

TATI ANA (Tatiana Kochkareva)

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Four Walls” by TATI ANA (2014, from the forthcoming EP TATI ANA).

TATI ANA is the stage name of Russian-born singer Tatiana Kochkareva, who lives in NYC now. Her style is something like electro-indie rock, and her influences range from Nina Simone to Pink Floyd to Queen. Under her given name, she’s released two EPs and two albums. Under her stage name of TATI ANA, she’s got an EP coming out in January.

I had never heard of her, but I got something in the mail bag yesterday, and when I finally got around to checking it out, I really loved it.

“Four Walls” by TATI ANA

This sounds like some strange and really awesome combination of The Antlers and St. Vincent.

In the first half of the song, there are a couple of different competing styles going on simultaneously. It’s a flavor explosion that’s a little bit startling, and very comforting at the same time. As good as the first half is, I’m especially fond of the second half of this song, where it gets all fuzzy and dense, and very noisy.

I have nothing else to add tonight.

The EP will be out in January, and I don’t know any other details. For now, and I think for a limited time, you can download tonight’s song for free from the soundcloud page.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

One response to “10.12.13 — “Four Walls” by TATI ANA

Leave a Reply

