11.17.13 — “Five Years Apart” by Pale Pools

Pale Pools EP

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Five Years Apart” by Pale Pools (2013, from the EP EP).

Pale Pools is a shoegaze-y/dream pop-ish sextet from Nashville. They released their first EP, which is simply titled EP on November 14. The songs were recorded last December at their studio inside the drummer’s house. As they say, it was “recorded two days after the world was supposed to end”.

I know nothing else about this band, but I got something in the mail bag yesterday about this EP. As the frontman Peter Curtis correctly guessed, I enjoyed listening to it.

The three-song EP is right up my alley, and while it’s hard to pick a favorite song, I sure do like this one.

“Five Years Apart” by Pale Pools

I love how hazy and delay-laden it is. There’s something about the relentless wave of feedback and delay that reminds me of The Swirlies, and as I always say, anything that reminds me of The Swirlies is quite good indeed. With this difference: The Swirlies put all of their noise and feedback right in your face. Just inches away from you. This stuff is a little thicker and denser. And it’s inside your head. Occupying the same space as you. This is good on speakers, but great on headphones.

EP is available at the “name your price” price via their bandcamp page. That is, as far as I can tell, their only web presence.

I have a pretty good feeling that there’ll be more excellence to come from this band.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

2 responses to “11.17.13 — “Five Years Apart” by Pale Pools

Leave a Reply

