12.01.13 — “Tell a Lie” by Farao

Farao (Kari Jahnsen)

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Tell a Lie” by Farao (2013, from the “Tell a Lie” single).

Farao is the stage name of Norwegian indie/indie-folk singer Kari Jahnsen. She’s currently living in London, and spent part of 2013 in Reykjavik working on her debut EP. She released a standalone single in the spring, and this one last month.

I know literally nothing about this woman. I just stumbled upon this song thanks to the soundcloud feed of Riot Factory Records. They’re an excellent indie/shoegaze label in Trondheim, and I’ve already featured a handful of their artists on This is That Song.

Tonight’s song reminds me quite a bit of Azure Ray. Jahnsen’s shimmering, honey-drenched vocals bring to mind the luscious vocal harmonies of Orenda Fink and Maria Taylor. There’s something else that her vocals remind me of, but I can’t quite place a finger on it.

Anyway, this is that song:
“Tell a Lie” by Farao

I really love the line, early in the song:

There were things you never told me
Like how your heart was painted black

I also really love the Stereolab-like organ bits. All warm and bright. And intimately close. At the end, those buzzing organ bits combined with synthetic hand claps and a bit of light guitar. It’s something that all falls together in a way that’s just about perfect for me.

It’s a song about dishonesty. Maybe about infidelity. Whatever the specifics are, I’m completely captivated by the song.

“Tell a Lie” will appear on the Farao EP, which is slated for release in early 2014 via Riot Factory. In the meantime, you can download the song from bandcamp here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

