video — “I Was Where Were You” by DTCV

DTCV

If you only watch one music video tonight, make it “I Was Where Were You” by DTCV (from the forthcoming 2014 album Hilarious Heaven).

DTCV is an indie-rock trio from Los Angeles by way of Paris. Pronounce the band name “Détective” (with the French accent aigu). The name comes from the 1985 Jean-Luc Godard film “Détective”, which features a young Julie Delpy in a minor role.

EDITOR’S NOTE: This was supposed to have been posted on 25 October, and I only just realized that it never made it out of “draft” mode

DTCV formed in 2012, and they’ve got James Greer on guitar. Once upon a time, he was the Senior Editor and Senior Writer for Spin Magazine. During his tenure at Spin in the early 1990s, he was also engaged to Kim Deal of Breeders and Pixies fame. During this time, he was also a member of Guided By Voices. No qualms with his qualifications. The front of DTCV is Guylaine Vivarat, who has been in a couple of lesser-known Los Angeles bands. They’re rounded out by a drummer named Chris Dunn, who has been in “about a million” Chicago bands. They’ve released a couple of EPs, plus their debut album last August. They have a new double-album called Hilarious Heaven set for release in January of 2014.

Almost everything I’ve read about this band draws a comparison between Vivarat and a Parallel Lines(1978)-era Deborah Harry. While I certainly appreciate that, I get something else. At least from today’s song, I find it easier to compare Vivarat to Chrissie Hynde around the time thatLearning to Crawl(1983) came out.

I’m also reminded, in a more contemporary way, of late-era Bettie Serveert, and also of the amazing Land of Talk.

Anyway, here’s the video, which is a bit of a parody of 1970s European teevee variety shows:

DTCV – I Was Where Were You from DTCV on Vimeo.

Obviously the guitar solos are reminiscent of GBV, and there’s no getting around that, but in a “bigger picture” kind of way, I’m reminded of the above mentioned things.

I had never heard of this band until I got something in the mailbag yesterday. Now, I’m looking forward to the new album on January 21, 2014. The album title, by the way, is taken from James Joyce’s Finnegans Wake. I’m made to understand that Finnegans Wake, although considered to be a classic, is damn near impossible to read. Because of its loose narrative structure, Joyce’s use of made-up language, and its length. Also, depending upon which edition you get, the punctuation and paragraph breaks might add to the confusion.

Anyway, the album will be released physically on cassette-only via Xemu Records and Burger Records. I know I’ve mentioned it before, but I really despise this trend of bands doing physical releases only on cassette. I’m overly nostalgic at times, but I have reserved no love or any fond memories of cassettes. Except the grape-scented liner notes of Warner Bros cassette releases in the late 1980s.

Fear not, though. Hilarious Heaven will also be released digitally.

DTCV just pulled the plug midway through a support tour with Guided by Voices. After they hit a deer, their van sustained significant enough damage that they had to end their trip prematurely. They should be back on the road soon, touring with their new album.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

