10.11.13 — “Haters” by Crushed Stars

Crushed Stars (Todd Gautreau)

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Haters” by Crushed Stars (from the forthcoming 2014 album Farewell Young Lovers).

Crushed Stars is an indie pop band from Dallas. Really, the band is one of a couple of projects by Todd Gautreau. He handles most of the instruments, but Jeff Ryan from The War on Drugs plays drums for him. Ryan also plays drums in Gautreau’s electronica project Sonogram. He’s been making records as Crushed Stars since 2000, but I’d never heard of him until I got something in the mailbag today.

The email promised notes of Red House Painters, Low, and The Clientelle. Those are all excellent flavors to add to any recipe, so I was intrigued. I can’t say that this song reminds me of any of those, but I like the song a lot anyway.

This is that song.

“Haters” by Crushed Stars

I can’t really say that it reminds me of anything specific, but I love that it has a bit of a 1990s feel to it. I love the fuzzy bits and the delay. And I really like the busy drumming.

This song is apparently about the hypocrisy of people who act like jerks all week long and then hop on their moral high horse on Sunday mornings to go to church.

Farewell Young Lovers will be released on January 21 via Simulacra Records, which is the label that Gautreau started so that he could release his own albums.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

