12.22.13 — “Deep Cut” by My Education

My Education

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Deep Cut” by My Education (2004, from the album 5 Popes).

My Education is a post-rock band from Austin, Texas who have been around for more than a decade. I’ve never heard of them until recently, when I started to hear some buzz about how they’re about to re-release their debut album.

I’ve been really busy organizing my year-end lists, and although I finally finalized that list and published the countdown, I’m still not totally done with that task. Expect more of the “favorite records of 2013” stuff before the year’s out. Anyway, I’ve been busy with that stuff and haven’t been minding my song of the day duties.

I don’t know anything about this band, but I’ve read that their fans have been upset that 5 Popes wasn’t released on vinyl in 2004. Ten years later, with their career still going and with vinyl making a very strong comeback in the industry, they’ve finally decided to right that wrong.

In February of 2014, they’ll re-release their debut album via Beat Import Records. The reissue will include one extra track, and for the first time it’ll be available on vinyl. They’re only pressing 500 copies, with 100 of those on clear red vinyl. From what I hear, their followers will gobble those up in no time flat.

The original album was only five songs, but in typical post-rock fashion, they’re all seven minutes or longer. I just became familiar with this stuff, and I really like this song:

“Deep Cut” by My Education

Look for this reissue on February 4, 2014.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

