02.19.2014 — “Bridge to Hawaii” by Tacocat

Tacocat

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Bridge to Hawaii” by Tacocat (2014, from the forthcoming album NVM)

Tacocat is a pop-punk/cuddlepunk quartet from Seattle. I don’t know anything about them other than that they originated in a town a couple of hours south of Seattle and they eventually migrated there. I happened upon this song tonight while I was perusing The AV Club, and I really dig what they’re doing. They’re taking us back to the mid-1990s and reminding us of some of those glorious bubblegum cuddlepunk girl bands like Cub, and Tiger Trap.

I’ll admit that I was intrigued by the song title, which reminds me of an in-joke among a group of my friends. To make a long story short, one friend asked another friend, who is a geologist why they can’t build a bridge from California to Hawaii. She was expecting him to give some geologic or general scientific reasons why it would be a bad idea, but after a very brief pause, he answered “It’s too fucking far”.

Anyway, here’s the fantastic song:
“Bridge to Hawaii” by Tacocat

Apart from the fact that this reminds me of some really fantastic stuff from the 1990s, I really like the slight pause at 1:38. The song is full of amazing energy, sugary sweet hooks, and hopeless romanticism. What’s not to love?

NVM will be released next Tuesday via the Seattle-based Hardly Art Records. You can pre-order the album here, and while they last, you can get the vinyl on opaque bubble gum pink vinyl.

You can also download the song for free from soundcloud.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

