05.26.2014 — “(Tonight) We Burn Like Stars That Never Die” by Hammock

Hammock

If you only listen to one song today, make it “(Tonight) We Burn Like Stars That Never Die” by Hammock (2012, from the double album Departure Songs).

Hammock is an ambient electronic/shoegaze/dream pop/post-rock duo from Nashville. Songwriters Marc Byrd and Andrew Thompson got together back in 2004 and began collaborating, but never really meant to record anything. They just wanted to release their creative juices. Byrd has often been quoted:

There are times when the need to create a thing begins to interrupt your life. And if you don’t give in to it, everything else starts to suffer.

These informal sessions grew into something else, and ten years later, they’ve self-released five EPs, six albums, and a few other things. This band is often mentioned in the same breath as bands like Sigur Rós and Eluvium. They’re also often mentioned alongside the two great Texas post-rock bands Explosions in The Sky and This Will Destroy You.

I’m not sure how this happened, but I have only just gotten into this band. I’ve been hearing their name mentioned a lot in the past two years, but I’ve never really taken the time to investigate. Today, I checked out their 2012 double-album Departure Songs, and I promptly bought a download of the two-hour opus. I think I’ll be getting the rest of their catalog faster than I can digest it.

I must admit that when I saw the title of today’s song, I was instantly drawn to it because it sounds like it should be the title of a song by Pale Saints. Everybody knows how I’ll take any opportunity to bring Pale Saints into the conversation, so there it is.

Most of Hammock’s songs are instrumental, but both guys sing on today’s song. The jewel of the crown, though, is the vocal track provided by Byrd’s wife Christine Glass Byrd. She’s been on a few Hammock records, and she and Marc Byrd used to be in a contemporary christian music group called GlassByrd. Her vocals make this song absolutely sublime.

This is that song.

“(Tonight) We Burn Like Stars That Never Die” by Hammock

It’s a beautiful, calm, chilly song. It reminds me of that fantastic time of year when summer is giving way to autumn. The days are warm and bright, while the nights are cool and the air is thick. You find a beverage or three to drink and a person to cuddle with. You set up a chair in the back yard where you fall asleep under the stars.

You can buy Departure Songs from the Hammock bandcamp shop here, or from your favorite legal downloading place.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

