05.30.2014 — “Say Hello” by Tussilago

Tussilago

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Say Hello” by Tussilago (from the forthcoming “Say Hello” single).

Tussilago is a down-tempo indie folk/rock quartet from Stockholm. They formed in 2011 and have released one EP to date. Their single “Say Hello” will be released on June 6 via Ingrid Records. In late 2014, they plan to release their first album, and this song will presumably be on it.

I don’t know what “tussilago” means, but I read somewhere that it has something to do with flowers growing in snow-covered fields.

I don’t really know anything about this band other than what I learned in an email and what I learned in a tiny bit of research. I’ve seen the word “psychedelic” thrown around a lot in reference to them. I don’t hear a psychedelic vibe in any of the songs that I’ve listened to. What I hear is something that might fall into place on a mix tape with Fleet Foxes and Galaxie 500.

“Say Hello” by Tussilago

There’s a guitar bit from 3:27 to 3:55 that would make some say “psychedelic”, but which makes me say “Galaxie 500”. Whatever. I like it. I hope that there are big things from this band in the future.

The band recently released a video to go with the song. It was filmed in the hills of Portugal and doesn’t really have anything to do with the song, but it’s nice to look at:

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

