06.18.2014 — “Honey Do” by Beverly

Beverly

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Honey Do” by Beverly (2014, from the forthcoming album Careers).

Beverly is an indie pop duo from Brooklyn. The band is made up of the magnificent Miss Frankie Rose and Miss Drew Citron. By now, you know Frankie Rose as the former drummer of Vivian Girls and Dum Dum Girls. She went out on her own a few years ago, and her second album Interstellar was my 15th favorite album of 2012. Drew Citron is a member of the Frankie Rose band.

Beverly will be releasing their debut album on July 1 via Kanine Records, and they’ve been promoting the hell out of it with a couple of singles and videos. On Monday, they shared the song “Planet Birthday” over at Noisey. Today’s song has already been out there for a couple of weeks.

I got my mitts on a promo copy of the album, and it’s quite brilliant. It’s sure to end up in the top half of my year-end list. It’s a little bit dream-pop, it’s a little bit c-86, it’s a little bit doomgaze. It’s Frankie Rose at one of her finest moments. I listened to the album three times in a row yesterday morning, then again last night. I don’t do that very often.

I can honestly say that I love every song on the album, and this is one of them:

“Honey Do” by Beverly

One of my very favorite things about the song is the chorus. Everything is all fuzzy throughout the song, but in the chorus, everything drops out, and it’s just the clean vocal “Oh, Honey do.” I love it.

Here’s the official video for the song, which is really just a video montage of a bunch of high school seniors in Austin, Texas.

The album will be out July 1, and you can pre-order your copy from Kanine here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

