06.28.2014 — “Star Rising” by The Sorry Shop

The Sorry Shop

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Star Rising” by The Sorry Shop (2013, from the album Mnemonic Syncretism).

The Sorry Shop is a dream pop/shoegaze six-piece from Rio Grande, Brazil. That’s a small city in the southernmost state of Brazil. I had never heard of this band before tonight. I started doing some research about an Argentinian shoegaze band, and I’ll eventually get around to writing about those guys, but once I heard this song, I was totally hooked.

“Star Rising” by The Sorry Shop

The band formed in 2011, put out an album called Bloody Fuzzy Cozy in 2012, then followed with Mnemonic Syncretism in May of 2013. Tonight’s song is the first song from the album, which you can download for free via the band’s official bandcamp page.

While there are reasons to point to more obvious influences like My Bloody Valentine, I can’t help but be reminded of Estonian shoegazers Pia Fraus.

Whoever you want to compare them to, I think their record sounds great.

Go download the album now. It’s free!

And for a bit of fun, here’s the video for the song:

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

