07.13.2014 — “The Garden” by A Million Billion Dying Suns

Nate Mercereau of AMBDS

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “The Garden” by A Million Billion Dying Suns (2014, from the album AMBDS).

A Million Billion Dying Suns is a “transcendental rock” band from San Francisco. The project was dreamed up and is fronted by Nate Mercereau. He does most of the heavy lifting, but the other members of the band have collaborated with a wide range of acts from Richard Ashcroft to Chaka Khan.

They released an EP last autumn, and the new album will be self-released on September 2.

AMBDS’s music is usually described as “grungy” and “brilliantly shiny”. I’ve listened to an advance copy of this album, and there are times when it sounds like stoner rock and times when it sounds like grunge revival. At times, it’s even a little shoegaze-y. Whatever the comparable genre, there’s almost always a prominence of fuzzy guitars. We really like fuzzy guitars over here at This is That Song.

Here’s one of my favorites:

“The Garden” by A Million Billion Dying Suns

Fuzz. Noise. Heavy bass. It’s all there. And it’s all there right from the drop. My favorite bit is the ending of the song, where it gets a bit louder and a bit more chaotic. And the hooks. Under all the noise and fuzz, there’s some fantastic hooks there in the chorus.

I have to admit that when I got the email about this, I was already pretty much sold on it just with the band’s name. There are some examples of bands who have names that I love, but music that I hate. There are bands who have music that I love and names that I hate. Most of the time, the band name is just sort of there. I really like this band name, and I like their music too. Some folks even say that the name is appropriate for their music.

You’ll be able to buy the album on September 2. Until then, enjoy this song

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

