08.07.2014 — “Right Through” by Wing Dam

Wing Dam

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Right Through” by Wing Dam (2014, from the album Shifter Bliss).

Wing Dam is an indie rock/post-grunge trio from Baltimore. They have a sound that a lot of people say is the embodiment of the “Baltimore sound”. I wouldn’t say that they “sound like” or even “remind me of” Baltimore luminaries like Wye Oak and Thrushes, but the three bands would certainly go well together on a mix tape.

There’s definitely a 90s feel to what they’re doing. I’ve listened to most of the album, and it definitely has elements of the tough-but-sweet That Dog, the clever angles of Pavement, and the raw emotion of Archers of Loaf

I had never heard of this band until the 2014 Hopscotch Music Festival lineup was announced a few months ago. We’re less than a month away from the festival, which means it’s time for me to start cracking on my homework. This year there are 160 bands scheduled for the festival, which opens Thursday September 4 and officially closes Saturday September 6. Every year when the lineup is announced, I’m only familiar with maybe 15% of the bands, but I do a ton of homework and I always start with a long list of about 40 that I’d like to see. By the time the schedule is announced, I narrow that to about 30, and as we get closer to the festival, I’ll narrow that list to about 20. Realistically, I won’t be able to see every band that I have on my lists, and I always end up seeing something that wasn’t even on my long list. That’s the way this festival works. I love it.

Anyway, this is one of the bands that I’ve already put on my short list.

“Right Through” by Wing Dam

Wing Dam will be playing the 9:30-10:30 slot at Slim’s. You can still buy tickets to the whole festival, single day passes, and City Plaza shows. See all the ticketing options here.

You can buy a digital download of Shifter Bliss here, and as per the band’s instructions “play it loud as fuck”.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

