08.08.2014 — “Coasts” by Leave the Planet

Leave the Planet

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Coasts” by Leave the Planet (2014, from the “Coasts/Sarah, Where Are You” digital single).

Leave the Planet is a lo-fi shoegaze/dream pop duo from London. As the story goes, Nathalia Bruno moved into the same apartment building as Jack Milwaukee, they discovered that they had similar taste in music, and they decided to start a band. They’re both huge fans of Galaxie 500, and they named their band after the Galaxie 500 song “Leave the Planet” (1990, from the album On Fire).

The band is signed to Kanine Records, which is home to a lot of really great bands. Last night, the Kanine Records social media person posted this song to their feed, and I fell in love with it right away.

This is that song:
“Coasts” by Leave the Planet

It’s got distant-sounding fuzzy guitars, a Cocteaus-esque drum machine bit, and warm synths. Beneath all of that, Bruno’s reverb-drenched vocals sit way low in the mix. It simultaneously sounds like classic dream-pop and also like something fresh. I guess I can lump them in with other outstanding dream-pop duos Beach House and Memoryhouse.

This is a mesmerizing song. I listened to it late last night, and it stayed in my head all morning. As I usually do, I’ve listened to the song over and over while I write, and I know that I’ll be thinking about those hooks for the rest of the day.

The single will be released digitally on August 12. You can order your copy here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

One response to “08.08.2014 — “Coasts” by Leave the Planet

Leave a Reply

