08.26.2014 — “Scarecrow” by TWENTYFOURLIVES

TWENTYFOURLIVES

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Scarecrow” by TWENTYFOURLIVES (2014, from the forthcoming album Peaks… Peaks… Peaks!).

TWENTYFOURLIVES is a post-rock quartet from the small Belgian town La Luvière. The band got started in 2009, and they have two EPs to their credit. They’re set to release their debut album Peaks… Peaks… Peaks! on September 15.

Although today’s song has vocals, most of the TWENTYFOURLIVES songs do not.

I really don’t know anything about this band, but today I got something in the mail bag inviting me to listen to a private stream of the forthcoming album. The email gave no details at all. I had no idea even what type of band they were. I usually don’t have very high expectations in a situation like that, but I like to give everything a fair shot.

Within five seconds of the first song, I was pretty sure that I liked it. It took about 30 seconds for me to realize that I loved it. That first song (“Peaks”) is really reminiscent of the early EITS stuff, so I was really impressed. That song isn’t available for public sharing, but this one is.

“Scarecrow” by TWENTYFOURLIVES

It’s a bit of a slow build, and then there’s a bit from about 1:20 to about 2:20 where there’s a really ghostly guitar bit going on. It makes me think of the magnificent Japanese shoegaze/post-rock band Mono.

The vocals are subtle and whispery enough that they don’t get in the way of the elaborate stuff that’s going on with their guitars and the simple genius of the bass line. I’m not really a fan of vocals in post-rock songs, but I quite like them here.

There are tons of examples of post-rock songs that I love because of the dizzying heights and cacophonous buzzes and drawn-out decrescendo in the coda. This song doesn’t have any of those things, and I think it’s better because of it.

The album will be out on September 15, and you can pre-order a digital copy via bandcamp here. You can also score their 2011 EP Mammoth here by naming your own price.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

